Four accomplished Canadians were formally inducted into the Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame on November 5 at a ceremony in Toronto as part of the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair. The 2022 inductees are Maurice Delage, Mabel Hamilton, Dr. Digvir Jayas and Ashok Sarkar. 

“What a fitting location to welcome and celebrate our newest inductees as part of the 100th anniversary of the Royal,” says Ted Menzies, president of the Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame. “We are excited to add this year’s outstanding Canadians and the innovative and lasting contributions they have all made to the agricultural industry including biotechnology, ag education, traceability, grain milling to expand Canada’s markets, and grain storage techniques to improve food security. What an honour to be able to shine a well-deserved spotlight on these individuals who continue to make a difference in Canadian agriculture.”

Maurice Delage – Agribusiness leader, hybrid canola visionary
Maurice Delage leaves an indelible mark on Canadian agriculture as the successful leader of Hoechst Canada, growing the company to the largest crop protection company in Canada. An early believer in biotechnology, his determination fostered the development of what is today InVigor herbicide-tolerant hybrid canola that’s grown on 50% of Canada’s canola acres. He now farms with his family, focused on new technology and sustainable farming practices. Maurice Delage lives in Indian Head, SK, and was nominated by Ag-West Bio Inc. and the Global Institute for Food Security.

Mabel Hamilton – Ag education champion, respected beef industry leader 
A teacher by training, Mabel Hamilton has made lasting contributions to the Canadian beef industry in more than 40 years of standout leadership roles with key organizations. Her lifelong career began with the Alberta Cattle Commission (now Alberta Beef Producers) where she created a classroom agricultural program. She led the Canadian Angus Association, the Beef Information Centre, and was an early champion for traceability in the beef industry. Mabel Hamilton lives in Innisfail, AB and was nominated by the Canadian Angus Association. 

Dr. Digvir Jayas – Innovative researcher, stored grain ecosystem expert 
For more than 30 years, Dr. Digvir Jayas has been the Canadian leader in agricultural research on the stored-grain ecosystem – addressing the growing need of global food security by minimizing losses in stored grain. His innovative research and collaborative focus have significantly increased the availability of high quality grains to feed Canadians and for export around the world, providing a key food source to address global hunger. Dr. Digvir Jayas lives in Winnipeg, MB and was nominated by the University of Manitoba.

Ashok Sarkar – Legendary flour miller, Canadian grains advocate 
Ashok Sarkar dedicated more than 50 years to promoting the quality of Canadian wheat and grains to markets around the world. He joined the Canadian International Grains Institute (now Cereals Canada) in 1979, rising to head of milling until his retirement in 2014. He’s one of the most influential champions and supporters of Canadian grains and is passionate about sharing knowledge in practical ways that are directly applicable to business and food processing. Ashok Sarkar lives in Winnipeg, MB and was nominated by Cereals Canada.
The Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame Association (CAHFA) honours and celebrates Canadians for outstanding contributions to the agriculture and food industry. Portraits are on display in the Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame Gallery located at the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair. The CAHFA also publicizes the importance of inductee achievements to Canada. The Association was organized in 1960 and is administered by a 12-person volunteer Board of Directors residing in regions across Canada. 

Posted in: News

Leave a comment